Forgot Password?


Theocracy started life as a one-man project created by Matt Smith, who played and sang everything on the self-titled debut album released at the end of 2003 on MetalAges Records. The album received fantastic reviews and worldwide acclaim within the Metal genre.

Mirror of Souls, the second Theocracy album, saw the addition of drummer Shawn Benson and guitarist Jon Hinds to the ranks. Instead of the dreaded “sophomore slump,” Mirror of Souls built on the strengths of the first album and took things to another level with improved production and performances, culminating in the 23-minute title track, which perfectly sums up everything Theocracy is about. The album received spectacular reviews worldwide and led to bassist Jared Oldham and guitar whiz Val Allen Wood joining the band, completing the lineup. Theocracy’s first tour of Europe soon followed.

As the World Bleeds was released in 2011. The album was conceived, in the words of Smith, as “a song-oriented album where each track stands alone, and where every song is iconic and strong enough to potentially be someone’s favorite.” The debut album was re-released in 2013, with Shawn Benson re-recording the drum parts. the band finished 2013 with another tour of Europe.

On October 28, 2016, Theocracy released "Ghost Ship". With Ghost Ship, Theocracy perfects the lively and fully-realized sound of As the World Bleeds, delivering 10 muscular and streamlined tracks that never lose focus and combine for one memorable journey. Each song on Ghost Ship stands alone and has a unique signature, but every moment sounds unmistakably like Theocracy.

Progressive metal, power metal
Athens, Georgia, USA
Similar Secular:
Edguy, Avantasia, Symphony X

Overall Rating computed from Album Ratings

Likes (7)

F1R3PR00F Sutekh DrSlump7 Kerrick Earrebarre zoe777 je_ggg

Comments (0)

Created by firestream - 2020 - Firestream Music Vault - made of magic and wires